How do I close my account for Outlook.com, Hotmail, and other Microsoft services?

When you close your Microsoft account, you delete your account information, including your email address and password, your registered information, and your contacts. After you delete an account, you can't use that Microsoft account anymore to sign in to Microsoft products and services.

To close your account

  1. Go to the Microsoft account overview webpage, and then sign in with your Microsoft account.

  2. Click Close account.

  3. Verify that the correct Microsoft account appears, type your password, and then click Next.

  4. If you have one or more aliases associated with your Microsoft account, you'll be prompted to remove them. If you have a Hotmail account, click deactivate your Hotmail account.
    – or –
    If you're closing your Outlook.com account, choose your reason for closing your account, and then click Deactivate account.

Notes

  • If you have an Ad-free Outlook.com, Xbox Live, or other subscription, cancel that subscription before you close your Microsoft account.

  • If you have any paid services or Microsoft Points associated with your Microsoft account, you need to cancel those as well. You should redeem your Points before you close the Microsoft account they're associated with, or you'll lose them.

  • If you manage a child's Microsoft account, the child's Microsoft account permissions will be revoked if you close your Microsoft account.

  • Some of your information won't be deleted. To learn more about this, see the privacy statement.