When you delete a file from your computer, it is temporarily stored in the Recycle Bin. This usually gives you an opportunity to restore the file to its original location if you discover that the file should not have been deleted. To permanently remove files from the computer and reclaim any hard disk space they were using, you need to permanently delete files from the Recycle Bin. You can choose to delete individual files from the Recycle Bin or empty the entire Recycle Bin at once.

  1. Open the Recycle Bin by double-clicking the Recycle Bin on the desktop.

  2. Do one of the following:

    • To delete one file, click it, and then press DELETE.

    • To delete all of the files, on the toolbar, click Empty the Recycle Bin.

Tips

  • To empty the Recycle Bin without opening it, right-click the Recycle Bin, and then click Empty Recycle Bin.

  • To permanently delete a file from your computer without first sending it to the Recycle Bin, click the file, and then press SHIFT+DELETE.