Why do I see a safety message when I click a link?

Microsoft uses Microsoft SmartScreen technology to help you avoid potentially harmful websites. When you click a link in a Microsoft program, SmartScreen automatically checks the reputation of the website and lets you know if it might be unsafe.

If a link goes to a website that's known for phishing—a practice of tricking people into revealing personal or financial information—SmartScreen prevents you from continuing.

An unsafe website warning message
An unsafe website warning message

If the reputation of the website is uncertain, which can happen if it's new or doesn't get many visitors, SmartScreen notifies you and lets you decide whether to continue.

web safety reminder message
A web safety reminder message