Before you can use a recordable disc (such as CD-R, DVD-R, or DVD+R) formatted with the Live File System format in other computers and devices, you need to close the current disc session to prepare the disc for use. By default, Windows closes your disc automatically when it is ejected.

Show all

To close a disc automatically

  • Press the Eject button on your computer's disc drive.

    Windows automatically closes the current session. This consumes 20 megabytes (MB) of disc space and can take several minutes.

To stop closing discs automatically

  1. Open Computer by clicking the Start button Picture of the Start button, and then clicking Computer.

  2. Right-click the drive icon that represents your writeable drive, and then click Properties.

  3. Click the Recording tab, and then click Global Settings.

  4. Clear the Automatically close the current UDF session when the disc is ejected check box.

To close a disc manually

  1. Open Computer by clicking the Start button Picture of the Start button, and then clicking Computer.

  2. Right-click the drive icon that represents your writeable drive, and then click Close session.

Once the disc is ejected, the session will be closed and the disc can be used in other computers and devices.

Notes

  • After you close a disc session, you can still add additional files to the disc, but you must close each additional session to be able to use the disc on another computer.

  • If you remove a disc from your computer without closing the disc session, you can close it at a later time. Just return it to the computer's disc burner and follow the steps above to close the session.

  • Some programs might finalize your disc instead of closing the current session. You can't add any additional files to a disc that has been finalized.