How does Windows Remote Assistance affect computer privacy and security?

When someone uses Windows Remote Assistance to connect to your computer, that person can see your desktop, any open documents, and any visible private information. In addition, if you allow your helper to control your computer with his or her own mouse and keyboard, that person can do things such as delete files or change settings. You can also choose to allow the person connecting to your computer to respond to User Account Control prompts. Only allow people you trust to access or share control of your computer. For more information, see Windows Remote Assistance: frequently asked questions.

Warning

  • Before you allow someone to connect to your computer, close any open programs or documents that you don't want your helper to see. Watch what your helper is doing. If at any time you feel uncomfortable about what that person is seeing or doing on your computer, click Stop sharing or press Esc to end the session.