How to close your Microsoft account

Closing your account means you won't be able to use it to sign in to the Microsoft products and services you've been using. So before you close your account, take some time to tie up loose ends, cancel subscriptions and make sure you don't leave anything important behind – whether files in your OneDrive, stuff on Xbox, emails in Outlook.com or more. For info about what you should check, see Closing a Microsoft account

You get a 60-day waiting period after you've closed your account. That means if you change your mind, you can sign in to keep your account open. If you don't sign in during that 60 days, your account will be unrecoverable.

When you're sure you're ready, follow these steps to close your account:

  1. Go to Close your account.

  2. If you're prompted to sign in and/or verify your account, follow the instructions.

  3. Check that the page shows the correct Microsoft account, then click Next.

  4. Read the list and click the checkboxes to acknowledge you've read each item.

  5. In the Select a reason drop-down list, choose the reason you're closing the account.

  6. Click Mark account for closure.