How do I close my Microsoft account?

When you close your Microsoft account, you can no longer use that account to sign in to Microsoft products and services. Therefore, closing your account can potentially affect a lot of the other apps and services you use. For this reason, even when you decide to close your account we don't do so immediately. Instead, we mark your account for closure, and give you a 60-day waiting period in case you change your mind.

Before you mark your account for closure, you should take the time to tie up loose ends, cancel subscriptions, and make sure you have everything you need from the account. Once it’s closed, your account will be unrecoverable—so don’t leave anything important behind! For more info about what you should check, see Closing a Microsoft account.

When you're sure you're ready, follow these steps.

To close your account

  1. Go to the Microsoft account overview webpage, and then sign in with your Microsoft account.

  2. Tap or click Security & password. If you're prompted to verify your account, follow the instructions.

  3. Under Close your account, tap or click Close my account.

  4. Verify that the correct Microsoft account appears, and then click Next.

  5. In the Select a reason drop-down list, choose the reason you're closing the account.

  6. Tap or click Mark account for closure.