When you delete a file or folder, the file or folder is not deleted right away. Instead, it is stored in the Recycle Bin until the Recycle Bin is emptied.

  • Right-click the file or folder that you want to delete, and then click Delete. Administrator permission required If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.

    Picture of the Delete command
    The Delete command

Notes

  • You can also delete a file or folder by dragging it to the Recycle Bin, or by clicking the file or folder and then pressing DELETE.

  • To permanently delete a file without first moving it to the Recycle Bin, click the file, press SHIFT, and then press DELETE.